The University Libraries Staff Association (LSA) membership is comprised of all classified staff and non-student full- and part-time wage employees excluding students, temporary, emergency hire, and any staff who are not directly responsible to the University Libraries.

LSA's Mission

The University Libraries Staff Association at Virginia Tech (LSA) exists to serve the staff employees in a manner that leads to an improved work environment and fosters a positive dialogue between the staff and the administration of the University Libraries and the University as a whole. In this dialogue the LSA President represents the University Libraries staff and conveys its suggestions, problems, and concerns to the administration and Staff Senate. The LSA Executive Board carries responses and information from those groups and disseminates them to the library staff.

The LSA strives to assist staff members in the pursuit of their professional development goals. The LSA Executive Board organizes informational presentations designed to enrich the working environment in the University Libraries by inviting speakers to discuss a variety of topics of relevance to the workplace. The Board also provides professional development support by serving as a funding source for staff members who wish to travel to attend professional conferences and seminars.

Through ongoing communication with the University Libraries administration and through assistance in professional development efforts, the LSA will continue to contribute to a work environment that is productive and pleasant for the library staff.

Governing Documents


The LSA Executive Board generally meets the 3rd Wednesday of the month at 1:00 in the Library Boardroom.

LSA Executive Board Minutes Archive

Executive Board

Ron Mecham

Adam Fenton

Angela Fields


Zone 1 (Collections & Technical Services):
Diane Corday (2017)
Marion Eaton (2016)

Zone 2 (Learning division and Dean's office, including University Records and Information Governance):
Michele Canterbury (2016)
VACANT (2017)

Zone 3 (ITS, Planning and Branch Services, Public Relations and Marketing, Research and Informatics division, and Special Collections):
Scott Fralin (2016)
Jeremiah Puryear (2017)

Staff Senate

Robert Sebek (2018)
Ron Mecham (2017)

Lori Lee (2016)
Steve Tatum (2016)